Local Government



Mayor: Curt Alexander

Mayor Pro-term: William E. "Bill" Carter


Robert W. "Bob" Cable Jr.
Wes Frazier
Jeffrey Treadway
D. Richard Tester
Sam Shipley


City Judge: T.J. Little, Jr.

City Manager: Jerome Kitchens

Director of Finance/City Clerk: Deborah B. Kessler

City Attorney: Roger G. Day

Assistant City Attorney: Charlton R. Devault



County Mayor
: Leon Humphrey

Sheriff: Dexter Lunceford

Circuit Court Clerk: Johnny BlakenshipPatty Woodby

Clerk & Master: Melissa Moreland, John Rambo

County Clerk: Mary Gouge

Register of Deeds: Edrie "Jody" Bristol

County Trustee
Randal Lewis

Assessor of Property
Ronnie B. Taylor

Director of Schools
Dr. Kevin Ward

Planning and Zoning Director
Chris Scheuttler

Administrator of Elections
Tracy Harris

Director of Emergency Management
Gary Smith

Manager of Solid Waste
Benjamin (Benny) Lyons

Director of Carter County Emergency Rescue Squad
Terry Arnold

Highway Dept. Superintendent
Roger Colbaugh

Finance Director
Ingrid Deloach

Scott Bowers

1st District - Hunter, Midway, and Unaka communities

Willie Campbell
Buford Peters
Jerry Proffitt

2nd District - Hampton, Roan Mountain, and Tiger Valley
Nancy J. Brown
Mike Hill
Al Meehan

3rd District - Central, Keenburg, and Range
Beth Depew
Ronnie Trivett
Charles Von Cannon

4th District - Courthouse, Eastside, and Siam Communities
Isaiah Grindstaff
L. C. Tester
Danny Ward

5th District - Happy Valley
Ross Garland
Bobbie S. Gouge
Timothy Holdren

6th District - Hampton, Little Milligan, Elk Mills, Valley Forge
Randall Jenkins
John G. Lewis
Larry Doc Miller

7th District - Gap Creek
Sonja Culler
Ray Lyons
Scott Simerly

8th District - Elizabethton High School, Harold McCormick
Robert Carroll
Robert L. Gobble
Cody McQueen


Local Governments- tnstarlogoA Three-Star Community by the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development since 1988 "Communities that receive the Three-Star Award have demonstrated the highest levels of economic performance. They continue to experience success with more new projects, expansions, jobs and capital investments. These Three-Star Communities are truly the best of the best.

Tennessee Municipal League's Excellence in Governing Award for 2004

Channel 16

The city of Elizabethton maintains a government information channel 16 for citizens served by the Charter Communications telecommunications provider.

The channel set-up includes enhancements of weather conditions, announcements pertaining to property tax notices, city government meetings and community events as well as meetings of city agencies. The weather display could coincide with school closing and city street condition announcements during snow events.

For more information about the channel and how to post local events call the city manager's office at 542-1507.